HOME   |   SEARCH THE CATALOGUE   |   ABOUT US   |   KIDS   |   TEENS   |   CONTACT    Smaller Text Normal Text Larger Text

Electronic Resources

Deseronto Public Library offers a rich selection of digital resources. Our databases are available through the library's web site 24/7 from the library, home, school or work. You will need your library card number to access them.

 

Home Improvement

 

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

MasterFile

 

Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

NewsPaper

 

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

Can Ref Center

 

With thousands of full-text biographies, reference materials and an image collection, this database provides an optimal research experience for students keeping up with current events or studying Canada's global involvement.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

Primary

 

Designed for libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

CPOF

 

Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue — including information on key topics of interest to Canadian researchers — this database helps students develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

OverDrive

With millions of checkouts and desktop installations, OverDrive provides the leading download service for libraries. Our support for PC, Mac®, iPod®, Zune®, Sony® Reader™, nook™, and thousands of other mobile devices makes our library platform the most compatible library download service. We also offer the largest collection of audiobooks, eBooks, music, and video for the library – all available on a single website for browsing, checking out, and downloading.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

health

Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

Career

Fully bilingual database designed to help students and others plan their future. Users are able to access hundreds of detailed occupation profiles - everything from Actuary to Zookeeper. Features a job search tool, resume builder, skills assessment tools, Career Matchmaker, portfolio development options, and more!

Use Inside or Outside the Library

 

NoveList K-8

This branch of NoveList is suitable for kids.  Look up books by your favourite authors and discover new ones!


Use in Library or Outside Library

 

 

NoveList

This database allows readers to search for their favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest.  Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 


Our Ontario

Find digital image, text, audio and video materials about Ontario history, heritage and culture. Search the collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, heritage and community groups, government agencies, and private collections in Ontario and across Canada ... via a single search portal.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

 

ancestrysmall.jpg

Ancestry Library Edition - Access available only on computers at your local library. Ask your librarian for details.

Use inside the Library Only

 

 

chiltonlibrary_lg.gif

ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Use in Library or Outside Library

 

kids_infobits_lg.gif

Designed specifically for K-3, the award-winning PebbleGo Animals database from Capstone Digital Publishers offers information on hundreds of animals! Now includes PebbleGo Sciences too!.

Use in Library or Outside Library

Road

Global Road Warrior is the world’s most extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Global Road Warrior consists of 175 Country Guides of 119 topics each. No other single resource covers so many topics, so well, for so many countries.

Use in Library or Outside Library

Travel

ATOZ WORLD TRAVEL
A comprehensive travel guide providing practical information for experiencing the world and all its wonders, for travelers and students alike.

Use in Library or Outside Library

Food

AtoZ World FoodTM
Explore food culture and traditional recipes from around the world. It’s a movable feast in a digital cookbook.

RECIPES FROM 174 COUNTRIES

Learn to make classic dishes from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Use in Library or Outside Library


 
.
    Copyright © 2010 Deseronto Public Library. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer  ::  Privacy Policy  ::  Website Credits  ::  Sitemap